The way is eightfold.
There are four truths.
All virtue lies in detachment.
The master has an open eye.

This is the only way,
The only way to the opening of the eye.
Follow it.
Outwit desire.

Follow it to the end of sorrow.


The Four Noble Truths:

Dukkha - The Nature of Suffering - Life is suffering.
Samudaya - Suffering's Origin - The cause of suffering is attachment and desire.
Nirodha - Suffering's Cessation - The end of suffering is attainable.
Mārga - The Way Leading to the Cessation of Suffering - The end of suffering is attained through the eightfold path.

The Eightfold Path:

dṛṣṭi - Right View/Understanding - Look at life, nature and the world as they really are.
saṃkalpa - Right Intention/Thought - Aspire to rid yourself of whatever qualities you know to be wrong and immoral.
vāc - Right Speech - Make best use of your words
karmānta - Right Action - Conduct yourself in a way that does not cause harm to others
ājīva - Right Livelihood - Do not conduct business in a way that will cause harm to others (weapons, slave trading or prostitution, meat, intoxicants or poison)
vyāyāma - Right Effort - Make a persisting effort to abandon all wrong and harmful thoughts, words, and deeds.
smṛti - Right Mindfulness - Be mindful and deliberate, making sure not to act or speak due to inattention or forgetfulness.
samādhi - Right Concentration - Meditation

When I finish this series on the Dhammapada, I'll spend some time going into my (basic) understanding of the Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path.